Board of Commission

mr. akwaake pic

Chairperson: Abius Akwaake

Mr. Akwaake is the founder of Namibia's leading advertising, marketing and communications firm; The Adforce Group Namibia. He holds a Masters Degree in Leading Innovation and Change from Yorke St. John University in the UK with further qualifications in Film, Marketing Communications, Leadership and Media Studies. He produced Namibia's first feature film "Namibia-The Struggle for Liberation" as well as the first family Television drama "The Ties that Bind".

use final

Commissioner: Fiina Elago

Representing the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security, Ms. Elago assumes the portfolio of Chief Immigration Officer. She holds a BA in Criminology form the University of South Africa with further qualifications in Law Enforcement, Communication and Customer Care as well as Public Administration. Ms. Elago spent 6 years in Germany as Immigration attaché at Namibia's Embassy in Berlin.


Commissioner: Caillin Basson

Ms. Basson is the Chairperson of the Filmmakers Association of Namibia (FAN). She holds an Honours Law Degree from the University of Namibia, and recently completed a fellowship in Public Management at Howard University in Washington DC. She has over 15 years experience in the film industry and is currently employed as Head of Production at Joe Vision Production, one of Namibia's leading film production companies.

Vice Chairperson: Ziegie Willemse

As Deputy Director: General Services in the Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, Commissioner Willemse is an IT expert by profession, and holds an Honours in ICT Policy Regulation from the Namibia University of Science and Technology.

tjiuoro best

Commissioner: Uatirohange Tjiuoro

Commissioner Tjiuoro represents the Ministry of Environment and Tourism (MET) on the Board. Mr. Tjiuoro holds a bachelor’s degree in Travel and Tourism Management from the Namibia University of Science and Technology. He serves as a Control Warden in the Community-Based Natural Resource Management and Protected Areas division of the MET.

Florence Haifene

Executive Secretary: Florence Haifene

The NFC Executive Secretary communicates on behalf of the commission with stakeholders, government entities and the public; while also leading the development of the company’s short and long-term strategy.